Tottenham Hotspur, known as Spurs, are a Premier League club based in North London. Domestically Spurs have won the top flight twice, the FA Cup on 8 occasions and the League Cup 4 times. On the European stage Spurs have won 2 Uefa Cups and a Uefa Cup Winners Cup. 

Formed in 1882 by a bunch of schoolboys, Tottenham were originally known as just Hotspur, named after a cricket club the founders played for. In 1884 they changed their name to Tottenham Hotspur.

In 1908 Spurs were elected into the 2nd Division and won it in their 1st season. In their 1st season in the First Division, Spurs finished runners up. Spurs won their 1st First Division title in 1950/51, after winning the 2nd Division title the year before under manager Arthur Rowe.In 1990/91 Spurs won the FA Cup for the 8th time, and in 2007/08 season won the League Cup for the 4th time.

In the 2018/19 season, Spurs moved from their long term home of White Hart Lane, into the newly built Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, with the capacity increasing from 36,310 to 62,850. Spurs originally moved into White Hart Lane around 1899, and the stadium saw many developments until 2017, when it was knocked down to build their new stadium.

Fact: Spurs won the FA Cup In 1901, after a 3-1 win in a replay against Sheffield United. Spurs were the 1st non league side to ever win the FA Cup, since the Football League was formed in 1888.

recently viewed