Brighton & Hove Albion

Brighton & Hove Albion, commonly known as The Seagulls or Albion, are a football club located on the South Coast of England. Brighton haven’t enjoyed much success over the years, but did win the Charity Shield in 1910, have won the 3rd tier of English Football 3 times and the 4th tier twice.

Brighton were founded in 1901 and joined the Football league in 1920 with the creation of the new Third Division. Previously in the Southern League, Bright won this in 1909/10 and therefore competed in the 1910 Charity Shield, in which they beat Football League champions Aston Villa. 

In 1979 Brighton were promoted to the top tier of English football for the 1st time in their history, under manager Alan Mullery. After 4 seasons, Brighton were relegated in 1983 after a slow start to their league campaign.

Brighton are known as The Seagulls due to their location right next to the coast, and have a seagull on their badge. They have played in blue and white stripe home shirts for the majority of their history, however they did have a spell of wearing white home shirts during their more successful period when they were promoted to the First Division.

Brighton played in the Goldstone ground for 95 years, up until 1997 when the ground was sold. Brighton also played home matches in the Withdean Stadium before moving to their current home ground of the AMex in 2011.

Fact: Following leaving the Goldstone arena in 1997 and up to moving into the Amex in 2011, Brighton went 14 years without owning their own home ground.

recently viewed