Sheffield United

Sheffield United, known as The Blades, are a football club in Sheffield who have won the top tier of English Football once. They have also won 4 Fa Cups and have been runners up twice. The last time The Blades won a major trophy was the FA Cup in the 1924/25 season. 

Founded in 1889, by members of the Sheffield United Cricket Club, Sheffield United were formed by the cricket clubs president on the spot where the Crucible Theatre stands today. Sheffield United have occupied their current stadium, Bramhall Lane since 1889, as it was left vacant by rivals Sheffield Wednesday when there was a dispute regarding gate receipts.

Sheffield United won the First Division in 1897/98 and have won 4 FA Cups in 1898/99, 1901/02, 1914/15 and 1924/25. Since this final FA Cup win in 1925, Sheffield United have gone nearly 100 years without another major trophy. 

Sheffield United are nicknamed The Blades due to Sheffield being well known for its steel industry. They were also known as The Cutlers when they were originally formed up until 1912. 

Sheffield United’s famous red and white stripes have been worn since the mid 1890s, after the 1st couple of years where their home colours were white shirts. The crest, which has been worn on shirts since the late 1970s, has a picture of 2 blades (due to Sheffield's link with steel, and the club's nickname) with a Yorkshire White Rose above. This has been slightly modified on occasions but the design has been very similar.

Fact: The Blades nickname was originally used by rivals Sheffield Wednesday, before they moved to Owlerton, when they became The Owls.

recently viewed