West Ham

West Ham, known as the Hammers, are based in London and play in the stadium which was used in the London 2012 Olympics. West Ham have won 3 FA Cups, and been runners up twice. West Ham won the European Cup Winners Cup in 1965 and won the Intertoto Cup in 1999.

Founded in 1895 as the Thames Ironworks, by the workers of the Thames Ironworks and Shipbuilding Company, the club was reformed in 1900 and known as West Ham. Thames Ironworks played for 5 seasons, before disputes began over the finances and running of the club, which saw them disbanded, and West Ham relaunched on the 5th July 1900.

West Ham joined the Football League in 1919 and entered in the 2nd Division. In 1923, they achieved their 1st promotion to Division 1 and reached the FA Cup final for the 1st time as well. The FA Cup Final is famous for an estimated 200,000 people turning up to Wembley and some of the crowd spilling onto the pitch and needing to be cleared before kick off and a white horse being ridden around the pitch to help clear the fans.

West Ham’s are known as The Irons, which is a reference back to their early days as the Thames Ironworks. They also have rivet hammers on their badge, another reference to their early years as Thames Ironworks and is also a reference to their other nickname of The Hammers.

Fact: West Ham are 1 of only 8 clubs to never drop below the top 2 tiers of English football.

recently viewed